University

OU: Make Your Mark

Placeholder Image

Week 6! How is everyone feeling? Still coping well?

Week 5 gave me quite a few challenges, being a full time student and working full time, I had multiple assignments due at the same time. Begin panic mode… It’s was all ok getting the information on a page, but as I am sure you know keeping to the word count is a challenge in itself. I would also strongly advise keeping to your tutors guidance, if any was given, as they will be marking your work and know what they would prefer!

So I assume that everyone has received their first paper back by now? If not, hang in there… This will give you good guidance on how to write, reference and lay out your work. Hopefully your tutor’s comments have been as helpful as mine, I would take these into consideration as the writing styles may differ depending on the subject and, to a degree, your tutor. I hope you’re all happy with your first marks! But do remember it’s not the be all and end all if it’s not as high as you wanted, we are only just starting out after all and first assignments are worth maximum 10% of your final module grade! (Don’t quote me on that)

As I mentioned previously, I was quite up against it this week due to a very busy work week and having multiple assignments due. You may find yourself in this situation no matter your circumstances, in which I fully advise checking out the OU Graduation stuff which helped spur me on to get the work done as we are all aiming for that graduation day!

Finally this week was going to be my first study group, even though I couldn’t attend unfortunately, having a group of people (doesn’t necessarily have to be the same subject) working together could give you that little bit of motivation and even guidance/second opinion to really get on. Hopefully there will be more to come, be sure check out your local area to see if there are any study groups organised!

Keep working hard 🙂

Sam

Leave a Reply

